How to Copy and Delete Screenshots on iPhone and iPad 

When you capture a screenshot on your iPhone, you are forced to first save it before being able to take it up for sharing or anything else. And if you don’t delete the screenshots after they are no longer needed, they slowly but steadily pile up to clutter the entire photos library. Yeah, if your photos library looks chaotic, there is a good chance that a ton of useless screenshots may have played a key role. Thankfully, you can now copy and delete screenshots on iPhone and iPad. Let me explain how this well-thought-out feature works: 

How to Copy and Delete Screenshots on iPhone and iPad 

Prior to iOS 16, when you snapped a screenshot and tapped on the preview thumbnail, you would get the image editing interface with multiple tools like cropping and highlighting, etc. After editing the screenshot, you had to save the image to your photos library in order to use it.

Now, iOS 16 allows you to simply copy the screenshot to the clipboard and delete it so it does not get saved anywhere. Then after, you can paste the image to the desired location for saving or sharing depending on your needs. From what I can see, it not only saves your time but also keeps the clutter at bay. 

Step 1. First off, take a screenshot on your specific iPhone or iPad. 

Step 2. Now, tap on the thumbnail of the screenshot. 

Step 3. Next, go ahead and use the markup tools to customize your screenshot. 

Step 4. Next up, hit the Done button at the top left corner of the screen. 

Step 5. Tap on Copy and Delete in the menu. 

Copy and Delete Screenshots on iPhone and iPad 

Step 6. Finally, head over to the app where you want to use the screenshot. Then, touch and hold onto an input field and choose Paste. 

Paste the screenshot

That’s all there is to it! So, that’s how you can copy and delete screenshots on your iOS and iPadOS device. Did you find this feature helpful? If yes, make sure to share your thoughts in the comments below. 

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Can you delete all screenshots at once on iPhone?

Yes, you can. Go to the Screenshots album in the Photos app -> tap on Select -> Select All and then hit the trash icon.

2. How do you permanently delete photos on your iPhone?

Once you have deleted photos -> open the Recently Deleted folder -> Select -> Delete All.

Read more: How to Set Up AirPods Personalized Spatial Audio

Posted by
Rashmi Mishra

Founder/CEO: Rashmi Mishra is a new-age entrepreneur and a die-hard tech lover. Though Rashmi has a special liking for iPhone, MacBook, and Apple Watch, she loves to take the hottest Android smartphones and Windows laptops for a spin. When she is not reading stories that are breaking the Internet, you will find her either crafting designs or fixing lives for good!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *